Skip to content

Taking a look at Britballs greatest dynasties, from the London Warriors to the Birmingham Bulls, we spanned decades finding the best of the best!

No matter what sport or league it is, everyone likes to see variety in the winners and most people enjoy an underdog story. However, from time to time dynasties are created. Teams that are so dominant over such a long period of time, that you can’t help but admire the impressiveness.

The current football dynasty we are all too familiar with of course is the New England Patriots. Since 2000, they have appeared in nine Super Bowls and managed to win six of them.

So, let’s have a look at some of Britball’s most impressive dynasties!

London Ravens – 1983-1988

The Ravens were the first real Powerhouse in British American Football and were the first team to truly dominate the opposition. The Ravens appeared during an explosion of interest in American football in the UK. With the guidance of Lance Cone, the Ravens American coach, they managed to carry an unbeaten run that spanned a monumental five years and 63 games which also allowed them to rack up four National titles along the way. From their formation in 1983, it took until 1988 until a domestic team in the UK beat them and they were then eliminated in the playoffs by the Birmingham Bulls.

During the years of London Raven’s dominance, they also managed to register a couple of marquee wins on the international stage, with wins over the French champions Paris Spartacus in 1984. As well as becoming the first British team to beat an All-American team, when they beat the USAF Chicksands in 1985. After a sharp decline, the curtain finally closed on the Ravens after the 1991 Season, and the team finished with a career 75-22-1 record.

London Warriors – 2013-Present

The Warriors have been the most dominant team in recent history in the British game. Since beginning their affiliate journey in 2007, they have racked up a record of 121-15-2. Including winning their first National title in 2013, the London Warriors have won a total of six National championships in the last seven years, only falling short in the semi-finals in 2017 when they lost to the eventual winners Tamworth Phoenix. In fact, the Warriors have featured in every Britbowl final, with the exception of that 2017 season, since 2011.

In 2019, while on their way to securing their sixth National championship, the London Warriors absolutely decimated their opponents all through the regular season. Not only did they go 10-0, but they amassed 421 Points and only conceded 33, despite the fact they share their division with fierce local rivals, the London Blitz. The Warriors are by far and away the most dominant team in British American football since the turn of the century and have dominated the proceedings since the formation of the National leagues in 2010, winning double the amount of National titles than their nearest competitor.

London Blitz – 2007-2012

The London Blitz was formed in 1995, following a merger between the Ealing Eagles and the Woking Generals. They then rose through the ranks to the Premiership, and since then have stayed at the top of the British game. The Blitz have been the other half of the London duo in recent years. At least one of either the Blitz or the Warriors have featured in the Britbowl Championship game since 2006. The Blitz went to 12 straight Britbowl championship games from 2006 to 2017, a feat that appears to be unmatched anywhere across the British Game.

Between 2007 and 2012 the London Blitz managed to win five National titles, including four straight from 2009. Throughout this time, they have made a few trips to play on the continent, winning the EFAF Cup. Despite the rise of their London rivals, the Blitz have continued to be near the top end of the British game, although having not won the championship since 2012, something I am sure they are keen to remedy.

London Olympians – 1992-2006

The Olympians, who were originally formed as the Streatham Olympians and won Britbowl eight in 1994 beating the Birmingham Bulls. However, it was shortly after making the name change to the London Olympians, that the true Dynasty period began. The London Olympians, also known as the London O’s went to nine Straight Britbowls from 1998 to 2006 and managed to win a whopping eight of those championships, including six in a row from 1998 to 2003.

A regular-season loss suffered at the hands of the Birmingham Bulls in 1997 would turn out to be the last game that the O’s would lose until suffering two regular-season defeats to the PA Knights in 2004. They would then lose their Britbowl crown to the same Knights team in the final. Following that loss, the team elected to revert to the name Olympians and returned to their home at Crystal Palace for the 2005 Season. They then went on to reclaim their National crown, defeating the same PA Knights team that had beaten them the year before.

As well as the years of domestic dominance, the Olympians also made several forays into Europe, winning the Eurobowl in 1993 and 1994 as well as finishing runners up in 1995. They also won the EFAF Cup in 1999 beating the Oslo Vikings 12-6. After back to back turbulent years, the team was forced to withdraw and start again and worked their way back to the premier competition, however, failed to break through the Warrior and Blitz dominance. They took a brief step out of the top tier in 2017, but bounced straight back to the top tier the next season.

Birmingham Bulls – 1986-1995

Like so many teams, the Birmingham Bulls were formed in the early 1980s. However, unlike so many of those teams formed in those early years, the Birmingham Bulls remain the same organisation today. Although the team that currently exists today currently reside in the bottom division of British American football, there were certainly some glory days for the Bulls. The Bulls played their first game in 1984, however, it did not take them long to climb to the top of the tree.

In 1986 the Birmingham Bulls won the first of their titles at the time when the British game was split into two leagues. It was the Summer bowl two championship in which the Bulls were Victorious, defeating the Glasgow Lions 23-2. In 1988 the Bulls claimed their second title, this time competing in the same league as the London Ravens and the Olympians. They handily beat both opponents including a 30-6 win versus the Olympians in the final, on the way to claiming their second National crown. In 1991, they had, arguably, the greatest British championship game that was ever played, when the Bulls went on to claim their third title. This team beat the London O’s in a 39-38 thriller. The O’s had put up 24 unanswered points in the fourth quarter to take the lead, but the Bulls managed to cap a long drive with a game-winning field goal with seconds left on the clock.

The Birmingham side claimed their last title in 1995, where they once again faced the London Olympians in the final in what was once again a hotly contested affair. This time, the game finished 34-30. During this spell for the Bulls, they also managed to make their way to the final on another four occasions. They were runners up in 1989 to the Manchester Spartans and were runners up to the London Olympians in 1994, 1999 and 2000.

Leave your vote

0 points

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Hey there!

Forgot password?

Don't have an account? Register

Forgot your password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.


Processing files…